Maddie’s Favourite Products for August 2018

The end of August might be quickly approaching, but that doesn’t mean the summer fun has to stop! Keep reading to find out more about my new favourite products!

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 | Toronto Beauty Reviews

{Maddie’s Favourite Products for August 2018}

Disclaimer: These products were sent to me at no charge for editorial consideration. All opinions are my own.

 

It seems like summer is flying by, doesn’t it? But don’t despair, it’s not over yet, and I’ve rounded up some fantastic beauty products to help you make the most of the next few weeks. Aside from your summer beauty staples like sunscreen and lip balm, you may just want to turn up the heat with some of the items I’ve been testing out over the past few months.

Below, you’ll find out more about some of my new favourite products, including my recent picks for:

  • Foundation
  • Cooling moisturizer
  • Fragrance
  • Face mask
  • Hair product
  • Lipstick

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 CoverGirl TruBlend Matte Made | Toronto Beauty Reviews

CoverGirl TruBlend Matte Made

While I don’t tend to wear foundation every day, summer means wedding season. For those special events when I want my skin to look flawless, my latest favourite is CoverGirl’s TruBlend Matte Made foundation. The long-wear formula provides great coverage without feeling cakey. It evens out my skin imperfections, but is light enough to allow my skin to breathe and my freckles to shine through. Available in 40 shades (covering warm, cool, and neutral undertones), you’re sure to find your perfect match. On top of all this, TruBlend Matte Made is transfer-resistant, meaning you won’t get foundation all over your summer clothes. In fact, my sister used it to cover a bruise on her arm on her wedding day. After a full day and night of photos, hugging, and dancing, the foundation hadn’t worn off or made even the tiniest mark on her dress. If that isn’t a ringing endorsement, I don’t know what is! Available at most drug stores and cosmetics retailers ($12.99).

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 L'Occitane Icy Body Gel | Toronto Beauty Reviews

L’OCCITANE Verveine Icy Body Gel

I love me some heat, but sometimes Toronto summer can feel oppressively hot. Feeling sticky is definitely not cute, and sometimes, despite needing to moisturize, you just don’t want to add a product on top of your already uncomfortable skin. L’OCCITANE’s Icy Body Gel has been my answer to this summer plight. The bubbly formula of this gel actually cools your skin as it moisturizes, leaving a refreshing citrusy Verbena scent. You can even keep it in the fridge for an extra hit of delicious chill! Rubbing this gel on your skin after a hot day outside feels incredible, and the menthol adds an invigorating tingle. ($44)

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 Givenchy Blossom Crush | Toronto Beauty Reviews

Givenchy Live Irrésistible Blossom Crush

When you can’t stop smelling your own wrist, you know you’ve found a great fragrance. I’ve always been a fan of Givenchy’s parfums (Kenzo World and Dahlia Divin are two of my favourites), but my signature scent this summer is Live Irrésistible Blossom Crush. Bright notes of peony and rose petals, disrupted by a twist of bitter cacao, make this fragrance floral without being overpowering. The gorgeous lilac color and studded triangular bottle echo this unexpected combination and entice me to reach for this fragrance every morning. It’s an addictive, intoxicating scent that is truly irresistible. Available at Shopper’s Drug Mart ($113/75 mL).

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 Yes To Masks | Toronto Beauty Reviews

Yes To Masks

If you’re anything like me, your skincare needs change from day to day, especially in the unpredictable weather of summer. (How can it be raining and sunny and humid outside all at once?!) Finding a face mask to address your varying skincare needs can be a real struggle, and the high price tag of most masks isn’t always easy to stomach. Luckily, with Yes To’s single-use face masks, you can give your skin what it needs, when it needs it. Available in two different types (sheet or mud), and five different formulas (calming cucumber, hydrating coconut, blemish-fighting tomato, detoxifying charcoal, and redness-reducing primrose), Yes To has a mask for every mood. What’s more, all of Yes To’s offerings are free of parabens, silicone, and SLS, and are proudly comprised of at least 95% natural ingredients. A line of natural face masks, addressing a wide variety of skincare concerns, at an accessible price point? Count me in! Available at Shoppers, Walmart, and Rexall ($3.99 each).

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 Phytokeratine Extrême Exceptional Cream | Toronto Beauty Reviews

Phytokeratine Extrême Exceptional Cream

Those summer days in the sun and the pool can unfortunately cause real damage to your hair. Add blow-drying or heat-styling to this combo, and you can be facing some dried-out, brittle locks. Happily, Phytokeratine’s award-winning Extrême line may just be the answer to your hair prayers. Made with 94% natural, high-powered ingredients like botanical keratin, sapote butter, and baobab oil, these products can help rebuild, hydrate, and strengthen your hair without compromising softness. In particular, I love the Extrême Exceptional Cream, a nourishing leave-in cream that works absolute magic on my hair. It helps protect from heat up to 220 degrees, works to control frizz, enhance shine, and combat breakage. For someone who places a great deal of importance on her mane, this product has quickly become one my essentials. Available at select Shoppers Drug Mart locations and salons ($48).

 

Maddie's Favourite Products August 2018 Caryl Baker Visage Island Heat | Toronto Beauty Reviews

Caryl Baker Visage Island Heat Lipsticks

Summer date nights wouldn’t be complete without a fabulous pop of colour on the lips! I’m a total sucker for a bold lipstick, and this summer, I’ve been reaching for Caryl Baker Visage’s Island Heat collection. The creamy formula has shea butter and avocado oil to keep lips hydrated, and the bright colours are the perfect palette for summer fun. I was pleasantly surprised by how pigmented the lipsticks are – one swipe and my pout was covered. They have some genuine staying power, too: I didn’t need a touch-up even after an (enthusiastic) dinner of all-you-can-eat sushi! My personal favourite shade is Pinky Swear, a luscious pink-red that packs some serious summer attitude. ($18.50 each)

 

What are your recent favourite products? Will you be grabbing any of mine as the summer comes to an end?

 

Sign up for the Toronto Beauty Reviews Newsletter!

Want the latest beauty, style and event news right in your inbox? Sign up now!

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.